Minutes of the Regular Meeting Robinson Township Board of Trustees January 8, 2025 at 7:00 PM 12010 120th Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417

Present: Adam MacMillan, Penni DeWitt, Jamie Tubergen, Steven Ambrose. Absent: Ben Ipema. Also present: Attorney Sophie Stoepker in place of Attorney Ron Bultje. There were 16 members of the public present.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Supervisor MacMillan.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited followed by the invocation given by Supervisor MacMillan.

Motion made by Tubergen, supported by DeWitt to approve the Agenda. Motion carried.

Motion made by Ambrose, supported by Tubergen to approve the minutes of the December 11, 2024 Regular Board Meeting as presented. Motion carried.

Public Comment: Phil Kuyers – Ottawa County Commissioner; looks forward to working with the

Board.

Al Esnaola – would like to see comments put on the Agenda at the end of meetings. Also stated he does not live on a gravel road, but that for those that do, someone should address the issue of not soaking the gravel and going 45 mph during

application.

Frank Johnson – would like to see comments at the end of the meeting; wondered

why Penni DeWitt's library compensation/stipend was at Board level.

New Business:

Julie from Fresh Coast Planning was present at the meeting and indicated a special use permit has been issued to Douglas Marshall; all conditions have been met and the Planning Commission recommends Board approval. Motion made by Tubergen, supported by Ambrose to approve the Marshall special use permit. Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes, DeWitt – Yes, MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Discussion took place in regard to closing the Grow Blue – Class B Earth Change Permit. All deficiencies have been addressed, top soil of 4" requirement has been put down. Second inspection was completed by engineers/geologists who recommend closing the plan. Motion made by Ambrose, supported by Tubergen to close Grow Blue – Class B Earth Change Permit – Pond plan. Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes; DeWitt – Yes; MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Motion made by Tubergen, supported by DeWitt for EGLE consent to enter Robinson Township property only for monitoring wells (for PFAS, etc. by firehouse). Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes, DeWitt – Yes, MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Board discussed the 2025 Poverty Exemption Application which comes from the Assessor's Office and is done every year. Motion made by DeWitt, supported by Tubergen, to approve the new document form that is required for reporting purposes by the Assessor's Office for the year 2025. Motion carried.

The newly elected officials (Supervisor, Clerk, Treasurer) requested training by previous officials as needed at \$20 per hour, up to 10 hours per week. Motion made by Tubergen, supported by MacMillan to

authorize training as outlined above. Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes, DeWitt – Yes, MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Several Board appointments were recommended:

Motion made by DeWitt, supported by Ambrose, to reappoint Brianna Heyboer and appoint John Wood (3-year terms) to the Zoning Board. Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes, DeWitt – Yes, MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Motion made by Tubergen, supported by Ambrose to reappoint Dennis Berens, Erin Chittenden, and Mary Twa (3-year terms) to the Park Board. Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes, DeWitt – Yes, MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Motion made by Tubergen, supported by Ambrose, to reappoint Rich Saddler, Phil Crum, and Milton Reeths; also, to appoint an alternate, Mark Brown (2- year terms) to Board of Review. Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes, DeWitt – Yes, MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Motion made by Ambrose, seconded by Tubergen, to approve compensation/stipend pay to Penni DeWitt as authorized Loutit Library representative. Supervisor MacMillan explained that this pay was over the \$300 limit and required Board approval. Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes, DeWitt – Yes, MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Motion made by DeWitt, supported by MacMillan to make account changes to the IRS TCC (Transmitter Control Code) system; to remove Chris Saddler and Bonnie Hayward; add Penni DeWitt and Jamie Tubergen as responsible Officers. This system is used for submitting tax information. Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes, DeWitt – Yes, MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Other Business:

Motion by Tubergen, supported by Ambrose to pay Township bills. Roll call vote: Ambrose – Yes, DeWitt – Yes, MacMillan – Yes, Tubergen – Yes. Motion carried.

Reports:

Treasurer: Jamie Tubergen continues to learn job duties.

Clerk: Penni DeWitt is learning job duties to include year- end requirements.

Planning Commission: Bill Maschewske said no PC meeting has been scheduled since the last Board meeting, therefore no report.

NORA (Northwest Ottawa Recreation Authority): MacMillan talked with coordinat0r; no report.

Zoning: The Board was provided with a list of permits issued for the month of December.

Park Board: Mary Twa asked for three items: approval for six meetings in 2025; that the recreation plan be posted on the Township website; that the Park Board minutes be posted on the Township website.

Library Board: Penni DeWitt indicated the Board has not met since the Township's last meeting (they meet next Tuesday, January 14) she will report at the next Township meeting.

Fire Department/Ambulance: No report (Paul Van Velzen not present).

Adjournment: Motion made by Tubergen, supported by DeWitt to adjourn the meeting at 7:32 pm. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Penni A. DeWitt Robinson Township Clerk